New laptop with chocolatey

I’ve heard of chocolatey before, but when I was rebuilding my laptop this time I was nudged at just the right time*

I keep a list of everything I install onto my laptop so I can put it back together again when I lose my machine.

But this time when I was putting back tools like winmerge, I did it like this:

choco install winmerge

at the powershell prompt.

It doesn’t work for everything, but made a few steps a lot quicker. Perhaps for teams with standard tools, this would help. SCCM is another way, but these packages are maintained by someone else! So some risks apply.

Leave a Reply

